The David Kirby Prize


In June 2002 a pupil in fourth class, David Kirby, was tragically killed in a cycling accident. David was an excellent pupil, very popular with all other pupils in the school.

Every year in his memory Pierse and Esther Kirby return to the Gaelscoil to present a prize in his memory to the pupil of the year. This is a great school occasion as the pupils themselves vote in secret for the nominees of their choice.

Those nominated by their fellow pupils have shown many qualities through the year which have endeared themselves to the wider school community. Qualities we associated with David such as kindness, thoughtfulness and friendliness to all win the respect and the votes of the school community. The winner is announced with much anticipation during the end of year prayer service for 6th class.

Past Winners

  • 2009: Síofra Ní hÉindrí, Rang 6
  • 2008: Valerie Ní Chuirrín, Rang 5
  • 2007: Paddy Ó Daltúin, Rang 4
  • 2006: Niamh Ni Dhaltúin Rang 5
  • 2005: Caolán de Paor, Rang 6
  • 2004: Ben Ó Céilleachair, Rang 6
  • 2003: Lorcán Ó Conchubhair, Rang 6


The Presentation of the David Kirby Prize 2009

Daithi K 2009

From left: Daithí de Paor (Principal), Pierse Kirby, Síofra Hendry (winner), Siobhán Reddy, Síofra’s mother and Esther Kirby.

The Presentation of the David Kirby Prize 2008

Daithi K 2008

Esther Kirby presents the pupil of the year prize to Valerie Curran (Rang 5). Included in the photo are Ger Curran, Pierse Kirby, Mary Curran and Daithí de Paor, Principal.